5 Good Reasons to Take the Zen Life Series

Continuing the Journey of living a Zen-inspired Life

1. Going Beyond the Primers

If you've finished the Foundations of Mindfulness Series, you've learned about the nature and depth of mindfulness and what is possible when you take living a Zen-inspired life seriously. In the middle three classes you learned foundational principles about embodied openness, managing your emotions and finding clarity. The Gateway mini-courses builds on those three principles.  In the Focusing mini-course you'll learn a skill for being with your embodied awareness that is very explicit and specific. It will hep you mine your own wisdom in a way that no intellectual learning can possibly do. In the Compassionate Communication mini-course you'll learn a skill for speaking more mindfully and pro-actively. This new skill will help you build trust in relationships and give you more confidence and less fear when confronting difficult persons and conflicts. The Big Mind mini-course will teach you a process for strengthening both your psychological health and your spiritual awakening. Using a therapeutic modality called Voice Dialogue, you'll learn to clarify different aspects of yourself that are both interpersonal and transpersonal. We'll give you an experiential map of Zen that is invaluable for living a Zen-inspired life. 

2. Primers are Instructional, Gateways are Aspirational

The Primer Series are foundational. They teach you basic principles and introduce you to the power of mindfulness for wellness and the depth of Zen-inspired living for transforming your life. The Gateway Series are different. The Gateway Series are aspirational. You are learning a process that takes a principle you learned in the Primers and applies that principle through learning a new skill. In the Gateways you are using the attention you've cultivated through mindfulness to learn practical skills for how to function in the larger world. You will be challenged to discover within your own experience truths that confirm and strengthen the principles you learned in the Primers. It's not simply a lecture. It's a facilitated process challenging and inviting you to discover new riches and resources within yourself. 

3. One class vs. Four classes

In the Primers you had one class to learn a powerful principle. It took the whole class to really understand the importance of this one idea. In the Gateways you have four classes to expand and apply that principle through learning a specific skill related to that principle. These skills are uncommonly practical and useful. But you're learning a new habit and and that takes time. Even though you think you know them intellectually, it's another thing to apply and use them in your daily life. 

4. Finding your Footing

The Gateway Series will teach you ways to function in your world with more confidence and skill. They will teach you invaluable processes that bring what you learned in the Primers to life. They will reinforce what you learned and they will take it further because now you empowering yourself through your own awareness. The Gateways will strengthen some basic sanity and goodness within your own experience and will help you really make it your own. 

5. Learning Tools for Zen-inspired Living

You probably know by now, that simple intellectual learning is not enough to live a Zen-inspired life. You need specific tools that are experiential and not merely intellectual. If you took the Primers Series you now have mindful awareness in your tool box. If you take the Gateway Series you'll be able to add three more tools to the box: Focusing, Compassionate Communication and Big Mind. These tools help you appreciate the unique gifts that you have to offer the world. When you trust yourself, you become more authentic and genuine and others around you notice your sincerity and fearlessness. You make friends with yourself and your world, and things become less problematic and more workable. You need tools for the journey. Take the Gateway Series and continue the journey you began in the Primer Series.